良好投资决策的价值

现年60岁出头的林姓夫妇(化名)在2014年以2000万元的价格出售了他们的公司。他们现在正享受着一生劳动的成果,依靠辛苦赚来的积蓄养老。他们有两个成年子女,目前都在各自公司工作。  

尽管林先生已经积累了足够的财富,可以实现财务自由,但他也希望能舒适地享受退休后的日子,保持现有的生活方式和社交圈子。像大多数与他拥有同样地位的人一样,他痴迷于生活中的精美物品——名表、稀世工艺品和上等红酒。林先生还习惯与朋友们环游世界打高尔夫球。根据他所买的东西,他每年的花费在50万到100万元之间。 

他的生活方式会耗尽他的积蓄吗?这是他脑子里闪过的一个想法。最重要的是,通货膨胀导致林先生的开支增加,但却没有新的收入来源。

当林先生通过他人介绍来找到我们的时候,他对自己在私人银行的投资越来越不感兴趣。他当时的投资决策主要是凭直觉做出的--即如果一项投资的价格下跌了很长一段时间,那此时的购买价格一定是它的较低价。当时的决策在很大程度上也受到了情绪的误导和影响,对市场缺乏全面了解。

结果,当市场随后出现反弹时,他又被说服以高得多的价格再次投下资金买入。下一步行动的不确定性,以及市场不可预测性的变化深深打击了林先生的信心。他变得异常谨慎,不仅表现在他的投资决策上,而且对那些用他的资金进行投机的顾问们也是如此。 

与我们有业务往来的伙伴将林先生推荐给丰余,因此我们之间已经建立起一段基础性的信任和友好关系。然而,林先生最初对将资金从一家跨国银行转移到一间小型新加坡企业的行为还是感到担忧。

为了说服他,我们事先向他强调我们不是银行的竞争对手,而是他们的合作伙伴。对于林先生和我们的所有客户来说,他们的资金将继续由银行保管。作为一家独立的资产管理公司,丰余是扮演着分包商的角色,帮助他们研究、管理和监督他们的投资组合产品。 

通常,我们会进行初步研究和独立决策来设计自己的投资组合,而不是依赖其他机构的报告。我们以相同的方式为林先生制定了一套投资组合产品。根据每项投资的价值来分析和计算估值,并根据需要与林先生讨论正确和可持续性的投资价值。虽然进展缓慢,但我们逐步建立了稳固的信任基础,从客户变成了朋友。

尽管近年来市场出现波动,丰余仍为能够实现林先生为我们设定的财务目标而感到自豪。截至目前,他每年都可以自由提取5%的存款来继续享受退休生活,而不会对资本缩水而担忧。这有效地把他的资金变成了捐赠资金。剩下的收益仍留在投资组合中,有待计算复利。

最重要的是,他可以毫无压力地享受生活。在林先生的身上,我们看到:一个良好的投资决策如何能够在长期为我们的客户和朋友带来良好的价值。

Share on email
Share on facebook
Share on linkedin
Share on twitter

The Value of a Good Investment Decision

Mr and Mrs Lin (not their real names), who are in their early sixties, sold their business in 2014 for an approximate $20 million. They are now enjoying the fruits of their labour, relying on their hard-earned savings for retirement. They have 2 grown children who are now working in the corporate world.  

Although Mr Lin has amassed enough to be financially independent, he also hopes to retire comfortably in order to maintain his lifestyle and social network. Like most men of his stature, he enjoys the finer things in life – luxury watches, fine art and fine wine. Mr Lin is also accustomed to traveling around the world with his friends for golfing holidays. Depending on what he buys, his annual expenses can range between $500,000 – $1 million. 

Will his savings out run his lifestyle? It’s a thought that has crossed his mind. On top of that, inflation has caused Mr Lin’s expenses to increase, with no new forms of income. 

When Mr Lin was referred to us, he was growing indifferent with his private bank investments. His investment decisions then were made largely by hunches, ie if the price of an investment has gone down for a long time, it must be a low price to buy. Decisions then were also largely misinformed and guided by emotions, without a firm understanding of the markets.

As a result, when the markets subsequently rebounded, he was persuaded to buy again, at much higher prices. Mr Lin’s spirits were dampened by the uncertainty of his next move, and the unpredictable markets. He became cautious, not only in his investment decisions but also towards advisors who were hired to speculate with his money.

We were recommended by a mutual contact, so some form of goodwill was already established. However, Mr Lin was apprehensive at first about moving his money from a multinational bank to a boutique Singaporean enterprise.

How were we able to win him over? By showing him how we are not competitors of banks, but rather their partners. For Mr Lin, and for all of our clients, his money will continue to be custodised by the bank. As an independent asset management firm, Eu Capital acts as a sub-contractor who helps him in the research, management and monitoring of his portfolio. 

We started Mr Lin’s portfolio in the same way we started our own; by conducting primary research and making independent decisions rather than relying on reports of other institutions. We analysed and calculated valuations based on each investment’s merits. We would discuss with Mr Lin as needed about the correct and sustainable investment values. Slowly but steadily, trust was built, and we turned from clients to friends. 

Despite the market volatilities in recent years, Eu Capital is proud to deliver the financial objectives that Mr Lin set out for us. To date, he has the freedom to draw out 5% of his savings every year to continue enjoying his retirement without eroding capital, effectively turning his fund into an endowment fund. The rest of the returns remain in the portfolio to be compounded.

Most importantly, he is stress-free. In Mr Lin, we see how a good investment decision is able to deliver good value to our clients and friends in the long-run.

Share on email
Share on facebook
Share on linkedin
Share on twitter